Cooking · Food · recipes

Butter on the Fly

Something quick here. This is a fairly new concept for me; fairly new: I’ve been doing it for about 5 years now.

I had found this recipe for scones and homemade butter and was mostly attracted to the butter. It wasn’t something I had ever seen anyone do, it was something you buy at the store. My thoughts were to make butter it’s this long, drawn out process.

Uh, no.

It’s so easy it’ll make you cry! Good tears, we like good tears here.

First things first, I use my KitchenAid Mixer. You can totally use a hand mixer if you don’t have a KitchenAid. Place the bowl and the whisk attachment in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes. I have found that by doing this, it allows your butter to come together quicker.

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart heavy cream
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 Tbsp honey, optional

Process:

  • Take your bowl and whisk out of freezer and put together.
  • pour heavy cream into bowl, add your salt, and your honey.
  • Turn mixer on medium to high speed.
  • It will take a bit for the cream to separate from the water, about 10 minutes. Keep an eye on it though, have a kitchen towel handy, the water tends to splash everywhere! (I drape mine over the entire bowl, that way it won’t get anywhere but on the towel, make sure not to let the towel fall into the bowl, that’d be  hefty mess..ha!)
  • The fat will separate and stick to the attachment. At this point your butter is one. Drain the water and place butter into container.

Now, here’s the thing. If you feel like you wanna try this out and make a small batch, don’t use the whole container of heavy cream. Cut the recipe in half and see how it goes. Also, if you happen to be using a hand mixer, if you can, get a stainless steel bowl. Those seem to stay cold longer, glass mixing bowls always make me nervous. Of course, all my glass/porcelain mixing bowls are my grandmother’s bowls so I don’t use them for big jobs like making butter. In any case, back to your hand mixer: put the bowl and the whisk attachment in the freezer for the same amount of time: 20-30 minutes.

 

And you’ve made butter! How ’bout that?! This butter is one you can use for anything. Of course, if you don’t want the hint of honey in there, don’t use it. Use any kind of flavor!

Here’s mine that I made to go with my scones.

11379307_459554447538089_206783369_n

Anyway, you guys go and make your butter. Save it to your recipe box and lemme know how it turned out for you. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

